Steamroom
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Was it ... Magic? (chapter 1 of Underground Rose) 2800 words

+2
Whisper
Gwyndolin
6 posters

Go down

Was it ... Magic? (chapter 1 of Underground Rose) 2800 words Empty Was it ... Magic? (chapter 1 of Underground Rose) 2800 words

Post  Gwyndolin Sat 17 Apr 2010, 1:24 pm

This is the first chapter of my WIP, which is a 60,000 word YA Fantasy novel for girls. The working title for the book is Underground Rose, but I'm open to suggestions. My chapters are all named, so I'll post them each with their chapter name.

Feel free to offer any critique you feel it needs. I'm thick skinned, and not naive to the fact that I'm a novice. I want this novel published, and I will take whatever advice more experienced writers have to give.

Without further adieu....

Was it... Magic?

Rose Wilson was riding her bike out of town towards the river on her last day of freedom. Her sentence for turning 12 was one month with her grandmother in a rickety old house, learning a bunch of boring junk like etiquette, sewing and cooking. It was an old family tradition.

“I don't want you to go!” her best friend, Amber whined, puffing for breath as they rode up a hill.

“Well, it certainly isn't my idea of fun,” Rose retorted. “Megan will probably have her nose in a book the whole time.”

Rose's cousin Megan was 12 this year too, so she would be joining Rose on her fun filled summer break.

At least she wouldn't be alone, but the two of them had never exactly seen eye to eye. Megan lived just a couple blocks away and went to the same school, but that was where their similarities ended. Megan did nothing but read. Like that was her whole existence or something. She was always winning some award for it, but that isn't why she did it. She was actually super shy, and didn't want any attention.